Photo of the 8 Marque Powerful IDEA Awardee to accompany the annoucement. Top row Left to right: Dawn Laguens, Matt Morrison, Justin Myers, Anderson Clayton Bottom row left to right: Becky Pringle, Madalene Mielke, Tasha Cole, Chris Melody Fields Figuredo,
Announcing Our Powerful IDEA Marquee Honorees

Posted by

On June 26, 2024, in Washington, DC, GAIN Power is hosting the third annual Powerful IDEA Awards. This program recognizes transformational talent and leadership, inspirational organizations, powerful programs, creative communications, and transformative technology powering progressive politics and impacting Democracy, Elections, and Advocacy.

Event Details: The 3rd Annual Powerful IDEA Awards and 20 Years of GAIN
Date and Time: Wednesday, June 26 · 6 – 9 pm EDT  
Location: Capital Turnaround, 700 M Street Southeast, Washington, DC 20003  
RSVP Host, Sponsor, or for individuals to attend

The Awardees Program will highlight nine special marquee awardees and 41 community-nominated and voted awards. GAIN Power is a platform for the professional community of people and organizations powering progressive politics. The Powerful IDEA Awards are an annual industry program to celebrate and elevate the professional political community, making our democracy work.

Marquee Awardees:

Living Legend Award

Dawn Laguens, EVP & Chief of Strategy and Innovation, Planned Parenthood Federation of America

Dawn Laguens is honored for her dedication to transforming democracy, elections, and advocacy, with no plans to stop. She has strengthened connections between domestic and global reproductive rights movements for over a decade. She has trained, coached, and mentored hundreds of individuals, many of whom now lead major progressive advocacy organizations and political firms. At a time when the fight for abortion access and reproductive freedom is under attack across the country, we’re so glad to see her leadership and recognize her contributions to this fight. 

More about Dawn Laguen and this Living Legend Award.

Lee Saunders Outstanding Labor Leadership Award  

Becky Pringle, President of the National Education Association  

Becky Pringle is honored for her relentless advocacy for educators, students, and social justice. As a middle school science teacher with 31 years of classroom experience, Becky has dedicated her career to advancing educational equity and justice. 

More about Becky Pringle and the Lee Saunders Outstanding Labor Leadership Award

Truth To Power Award

Justin Myers, Executive Director of Blue Leadership Collaborative  

Justin Myers is recognized for his commitment to developing and implementing the Blue Leadership Collaborative’s State Manager Program, which recruits and supports diverse managers on state legislative campaigns nationwide. 

More about Justin Myers and our Truth To Power Award.

The Next Up Award

Anderson Clayton, Chair of the North Carolina Democratic Party  

Anderson Clayton is celebrated as a young, up-and-coming leader focused on bringing rural voters back into the Democratic Party. Elected at 25, she is the youngest chair of a state political party in the United States. 

More about Anderson Clayton and the Next Up Award.

The Hidden Figures Award

Matt Morrison, Executive Director of Working America  

Matt Morrison is honored for his tireless work to create meaningful change behind the scenes. He leads Working America, a three-million-member labor organization mobilizing working people who don’t have the benefit of a union at their jobs.

More about Matt Morrison and the Hidden Figures Award.

Transforming the Party Awardee

Tasha Cole, Deputy Executive Director, DCCC  

Tasha Cole is recognized for her transformational leadership and commitment to diversity, equity, and inclusion at the DCCC. She has managed and executed the organization’s commitment to these values in various areas, including operations, vendor recruitment, staffing, Congressional outreach, and engagement. 

More about Tasha Cole and the Transforming Party Award.

Transforming Democracy Awardee 

Chris Melody Fields Figueredo, Executive Director of BISC  

Chris Melody Fields Figueredo is celebrated for her dedication to expanding access to democracy and ensuring it works for “We the People.” She has led strategic campaigns and coalition-building efforts to pass significant legislation and ensure every citizen can access the ballot. 

More about Chris Melody Fields Figueredo and the Transforming Democracy Award.

Transforming Community Awardee  

Madalene Mielke, CEO & President at APAICS 

Madalene Mielke is honored for her significant impact on progressive political professionals, especially Asian-Pacific Americans. Before joining as CEO and president of the Asian Pacific American Institute for Congressional Studies (APAICS), Madalene worked to empower Asian American Native Hawaiian Pacific Islanders in politics and public policy. 

More about Madalene Mielke and the Transforming Community Award

Additional Information:

For more information about the Powerful IDEA Awards, visit our Awards Website and the Community Awards Nomination and Voting Website.

Host committee, sponsorship, and individual-level tickets are available on Eventbrite. 

Join us in celebrating these incredible leaders and 20 years of GAIN! 

We look forward to seeing you at the event!


Get Involved

Subscribe for email updates, including upcoming events, featured job postings, and other news from GAIN Power.